The Purpose

“For if by now I had put forth My hand and struck you and your people with pestilence, you would then have been cut off from the earth. But, indeed, for this reason I have allowed you to remain, in order to show you My power and in order to proclaim My name through all the earth.” Exodus 9:15, 16

truths

I haven’t met the person who doesn’t struggle when faced with opposition.  I might be at the top of the list among those who struggle.  When someone expresses disrespect, lack of appreciation, entitlement, or any other sort of opposition or ugliness, finding the place of peace in one’s own heart regarding how it’s handled (resolution and progression) is hard to say the least.  It’s more natural to feel victimized, or desperate to change the behavior or attitude of the opposition.

That certainly doesn’t work.

By the time the Lord used the words in these passages He had already plagued Egypt 7 times with three more on the way.  By the second plague, Pharaoh was miserable enough to beg Moses to pray for an end and he would let the people go.  But each time, when the misery came to an end, Pharaoh went back on his word.  Just as the Lord said he would.

By this time the Lord also hardened the hearts of Pharaoh’s officials.

Our choices are so far-reaching.

The people, animals and land of Egypt went through so much unnecessary hardship and misery due to disobedience.

In these passages the Lord made it very clear that he allowed Pharaoh’s behavior to worsen in order that God’s hand might be shown even more mighty.

I am not the first to raise my hands in praise and excitement over this passage.  I might be the first to feel discouraged and physically ache in these situations.  I suppose that’s why I need a LOT of Jesus’ word and truths in my mind as often as possible.

Receiving and believing life-giving truths in the midst of intense opposition manifests God’s power to rise above defeat and experience peace, courage and victory.

It takes a lot of discipline to allow His authority in our lives.

For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7

 

Lord help me to believe and live in your truths that even when things are hard, you are present and ready with courage.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

