The Daunting Task

But Moses said to God, “Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the sons of Israel out of Egypt?” Exod. 3: 11

Then Moses said to God, “Behold, I am going to the sons of Israel, and I will say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you.’ Now they may say to me, ‘What is His name?’ What shall I say to them?” Exod. 3: 13

Then Moses said, “What if they will not believe me or listen to what I say? For they may say, ‘The LORD has not appeared to you.’” Exod. 4: 1

Then Moses said to the LORD, “Please, Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither recently nor in time past, nor since You have spoken to Your servant; for I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.” Exod. 4: 10

But he said, “Please, Lord, now  send the message by whomever You will.” exod. 4: 13

truths he'll do what it takes9 27 flat

Do you ever sense a nudge that you believe is from the Lord and dismiss it with every rational and logical reason known to man?  Or at least with all your hearts concerns and fears?

It’s difficult to allow the Lord’s authority when we recognize our own shortcomings.  Not to mention when these nudges seem to enter our minds out of nowhere and feel so daunting.

Moses had enough life experiences by this point that he had come to a place of humility.  In that place of humility, one minute he was minding his own modest business tending a flock, and the next minute he saw flames in a bush!  But, the bush wasn’t burning.  So Moses went to explore.

His life would never be the same.

The Alpha and Omega, I AM Who I Am, creator of the universe met Moses in the flames of a bush and commissioned him to deliver a nation.

“Oh Lord, you have the wrong person… I don’t know what to say to these people, I don’t even get the words right for this flock and you’re talking about a nation?  Please, please, send someone else!”

I hear you Moses… I so appreciate your honest reflection on your humanity.  ugh…

Our humanity makes a strong case for our hesitation.

Ahh…but wait, there’s more!

And He said, “Certainly I will be with you, and this shall be the sign to you that it is I who have sent you: when you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall worship God at this mountain.”   Exod.  3:12

The creator of the universe didn’t miss a beat, as He never does.  He took the time to acknowledge Moses’ concerns and reassure him that He had Moses covered.  He would NOT send him on this mission without His help.  Not only did He reassure him, but He also told Moses that he would ‘worship God at this mountain’.  God gave him added reassurance of the outcome.

The Lord also spent time conveying His heart for His people.  He sees, hears, cares, rescues into abundant living.  Exodus 3:7, 8 

Not one of these is exclusive to the Israelites.  They are each true for every one of His children.

The Lord told Moses three times to ‘go’ (3: 10, 16; 4:12) and Moses struggled.

God told him where to go, gave him the words to use, instructions on how to manifest miracles, how to approach the elders so they would believe him.  The Lord addressed every concern on Moses’ heart and mind.  Even when the Lord’s anger burned against Moses (4:14), He offered him an option to take Aaron as his spokesperson.  Why?  Because God cared and still cares.

Our God is patient.  He understands that we will struggle and He desires to give us answers and peace in our relationship with Him.

Lord, help me to recognize your lead and quickly obey your promptings.  In Jesus’ name, Amen

 

Leave a Reply

