I Get It, But I Don’t Get It

Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”  Jesus answered, “Don’t you know me Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time?  Anyone who has seen me, has seen the Father.  How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?” John 14: 8,9

I have had married friends share with me that they were friends for a long time without mentally registering what a really great match they would be for marriage.   Maybe they knew each other so well that they finished one another’s words, or knew what would be encouraging or hurtful and how to put a smile on the other’s face and bring out the best in each other.

Similarly, Philip shared a great deal of time in the presence of Jesus getting to know His heart for His people, His character and mission.  But even with all that time in His presence, and hearing the wisest words ever spoken, Philip wasn’t registering the true identity of His holy companion. He hadn’t yet grasped the truth of who Jesus was/is.

It would be easy to sit back and wonder how Philip could possibly not understand this reality that was in his presence.  But for me, it’s also easy to consider my reality; that I know the truth, but too often I behave as though I don’t.

I want my second nature to be quick to pray and listen for my shepherd’s voice, but sometimes I allow life’s circumstances to lead me into fear, anxiety and leaning on my own understanding.  Exactly the opposite of the reality of God’s majesty and omnipotence.  Maybe that’s one reason I love God stories so much!

I know that with every discouraging thought, the Spirit of God whispers to me, “Why are you discouraged?  You belong to me!  I have given you a Spirit of power and love!”

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and selfdiscipline.  2 Timothy 1:7

Wow!  The magnitude of that truth is something I don’t want to lose awe over.

Lord, protect me from distractions that blind me to your character. In Jesus’ name, amen.

 

Leave a Reply

