Hurting The Holy Spirit

Do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Ephesians 4:30

The Spirit of God is a spirit of life manifesting all that is good and the power by which the human being feels, thinks, decides things that are pleasing to God.

I was probably in jr. high when I learned that the Holy Spirit is a person.  I remember being surprised.  The pastor presented the concept in the form of a question, asking everyone present our perspectives of the Holy Spirit.  Did we perceive him as a thing? A person?  Had we ever thought about it?  I remember thinking he was a thing.  That evening presented a perspective switch for me.

Being a person means He has a personality and emotions.  It means that although He is perfect, can exist apart from anyone or anything, and has no needs, He has chosen to allow himself to experience emotional pain.

Each of us has pain thresholds and I know for me, when time around anyone has a track record of wounds, I would rather choose avoidance.

Jesus makes opposite choices to never leave us nor forsake us.  Never.

“I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you foreverthat is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you. John 14:16, 17

I for one, come nowhere near close to grasping the significance of this particular gift.   He is completely Holy and loves perfectly.  He could have chosen to allow us His Spirit without allowing Himself to grieve.

He sacrificed His life so that you and I would not only experience eternal life with Him, but (among other things) while we are here we would realize our value.  Every time we entertain thoughts of feeling undervalued, He grieves.

He gave us His Spirit in part to guide us by way of thoughts (or any creative means He chooses), into all truths that we would recognize and experience His faithfulness, power, character and guidance for our thoughts, words and actions.

He gave us His word to remind us of His faithfulness and reasons to experience peace and His presence.  Every time I receive discouragement instead, He grieves.

He has chosen to seal His Spirit in me out of love for me.  In doing so not only do I have the very undeserved life in me, He views what I view, hears what I hear, receives thoughts I receive and experiences my emotions and actions.

Wow, that’s a significant position.

Lord, help me to have second nature awareness that you meticulously created me to worship you, enjoy your beauty and the beauty you created.  To experience the power of your name, your word, and a deep relationship with you through your word and Spirit.  To enjoy the freedom you offer. Amen

