Tower of Babel And Technology

“They said to each other, “Come, let’s make bricks and bake them thoroughly.”   They used brick instead of stone, and tar for mortar.  Then they said, “Come, let us build ourselves a city, with a tower that reaches to the heavens, so that we may make a name for ourselves and not be scattered  over the face of the whole earth.”  Gen. 11:3-4

truths

 

I was recently researching computer, audio and video technology measurements of memory, speed and power.  I was looking at everything from bits to exabytes and much more, in the form of charts. What struck me was not only how far technology has come, or even the speed at which technology is advancing, but more than both of those was how much it resembles the concept of the Tower of Babel.

 

It’s easy for both consumers and producers to go through life captivated by the latest gadgets or consumed with launching more speed and power.    Whether you’re paid to be the first to design this ‘magic’, or you’re a hooked consumer, we as a culture struggle with finding the fine line for what we choose to worship.  Technology is addicting!  I include myself in that scenario.

 

I really hadn’t considered that concept before I saw those charts.  I have enjoyed technology a lot, envied “the Jones'” and yearned for upgrades.  And who doesn’t have that conversation from time to time about the speed at which technology advances.  And yet, it really hadn’t struck me.

 

“…so that we may make a name for ourselves and  not be scattered over the face of the whole earth.” 

 

It’s crazy isn’t it; how this backfired and exactly the opposite resulted?  At the time they all had one language and no lack of confidence.  After this event, they were given different languages and in that regard alone they became further distanced.   It reminds me of the nature of so many relationships where you see two people sitting next to one another, both looking at their tech devices rather than communicating with one another.   Although technology has been wonderful for connecting people, it also has a very disconnecting way as we too often fail to be mentally where we are physically.

 

I have experienced that gentle nudging to redirect my attention and I pray that I will continue to be sensitive and grow in obedience to the Spirit’s lead.

 

In the name of Jesus, please increase my sensitivity and obedience to you, my shepherd so that I will worship you rather than technology.   

 

Have you noticed yourself worshipping technology?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

