When You Just Know

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.  Heb. 11:1

truths

 

One of my life blessings has been having many connections with others in the body of Christ involved in serving and experiencing wonderful ‘God stories’.  I can’t seem to hear or experience enough of them.  But one thing I don’t seem to hear quite as much is faith stories.  I’m referring to those times when people take action with no explainable reason; they just know.  Like when some Navigator staff friends set out 100 chairs for an event that was only expected to draw, well… much fewer.  They had no logical reason, there was no track record of larger gatherings or RSVP list to indicate that 100 people should be expected.  Realistically, they had every reason to expect smaller numbers.  But one person seemed sure that they should set up 100 chairs.

And so…they did.

And, exactly 100 people showed up.   Those kinds of stories.

I was in the process of raising funds for a missions trip to Eastern Europe.  Apparently in the eyes of some it was quite the chunk of change.  I just never thought about that.

I began exploring different ways to raise the support; wrote letters, spoke to everyone I knew at work, socially, at church,  had yard sales, etc.  I just kept going…really, without thinking twice about it.

I remember a few people along my journey said, “That’s a lot of money and you don’t have much time.  I just don’t know that I would expect it to happen.”

One thing I don’t remember, is letting it go from my ears to my mind and heart.  I guess the words stopped at the delivery.  I never thought to receive those words and begin questioning the plan or become discouraged.

It never occurred to me that I wouldn’t go.   And…I went.

It also never occurred to me how much I would cling to the Lord’s truths for confidence, rest and peace later as life’s challenges grew more…challenging.

I miss those years of what others deemed as ‘boldness’.  The mentality that never thought to doubt.  The child like faith.  How thankful I am that the Lord so meticulously scripted His Word to speak truths to our hearts and minds knowing we would be tempted to follow the persuasion of fear and doubt.

He knew… He has always known the battle we would face each day of our lives.  And He’s always been ready and waiting for us to let His Spirit take our battle into victory.  Into that place of peace, rest, strength, expectant confidence in Him just knowing that he has us covered.  He knows what we need.  He gave His life, that we might believe Him.  The magnitude of that alone puts me in awe over the mere possibility of doubting what His ways might look like.  How messed up human thinking is. . . How amazing the grace and power of God is!

Lord, I’m asking for ‘second nature’ faith, where it doesn’t occur to me to doubt.

 

 

Leave a Reply

