Grief and Truth

“Now I am going to him who sent me. None of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’ Rather you are filled with grief.  But I tell you the truth, It is for your good that I am going away.  Unless I go away, the Counselor will not come to you;  but if I go, I will send him to you.  When he comes, he will convict the world of guilt in regard to sin and righteousness and judgement: in regard to sin because men do not believe in me; in regard to righteousness, because I am going to the Father, where you can see me no longer; and in regard to judgement, because the prince of this world now stands condemned.” John 16:5 – 11

truths

Saying good-bye to a loved one is never easy.  Especially when they have had a life changing impact on your life.  I was struck with this passage in how Jesus handled his disciples.  He saw their grief and addressed it.  He knew their hearts and knew they were hurting and didn’t let it go unnoticed.

However, both prior and following, their grief is not his focus.  How wise.

I confess, I am the last person to know how much to focus on, and experience grief.  Getting out of balance is easy and although I need to be keenly aware of what I allow my mind to entertain and for how long, it isn’t necessarily a strong point.  Each time a loved one has passed into eternity with Christ, well… I know it’s wonderful for them, and perhaps even a dream come true, but the ache has been pretty intense and left me in a fog.

As Jesus dealt with His disciples, he put more emphasis on the truths of his journey, the gift of His Spirit and the role of the Spirit in their lives.  Can you imagine, being filled with grief and hearing such foreign concepts?  He knew the truths wouldn’t register for them at that time, but that they needed exposure to them to begin processing.

Do you notice that He covered various angles?  He told them that He was leaving FOR THEM.  That although they would no longer see Him, His Spirit would be their guide for righteousness.  And honestly, I think one of my favorite aspects, is the last (but most certainly not least) comment, that the Spirit will come to convict the world of ‘judgement, because the prince of this world now stands condemned.’

I hope that today, as you are faced with any struggles, that you will be mindful of our Lord’s ever present beautiful Spirit with this truth that the prince of this world truly does ‘now stand condemned’.

Lord, I pray that we live in the victory that He left the perfection of heaven and faced death to give us.  Amen

I would love to hear how the Lord is speaking His truths into your life through struggle and how it’s impacting your heart.  I call them ‘God stories’.  Want to share? :)

Leave a Reply

