Laying Things Down

‘Then the LORD said to Satan, “Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil. And he still maintains his integrity, though you incited me against him to ruin him without any reason.” Job 2:3

truths

How many directions does your mind wander when you look at this passage?  Are you just a LITTLE tempted to feel a little less than joyful or get confused?  Especially considering the wonderful compliments mixed in with the suggestion of ruin. . . . not to mention the “without any reason” part. . . so not funny.  This passage takes my mind down a few paths.  How about you?

I’m awe-struck by the Lord’s perspective of Job.

I desire to hear the Lord speak such words. . . His perspective. . .

to me,

about me,

and to hear His thoughts about any particular issue,  

in the midst of trials. . .

to experience trials differently. . . with His truthful perspective.

The Lord promises peace as we abide in His truths.  And He isn’t capable of breaking promises.   That isn’t to say that the peace won’t sometimes accompany grief.  Life is hard and grief is inevitable. . . but . . . peace, as we abide in Him, is promised.

The Lord reminds us very regularly in His word of His thoughts towards us. So . . . one of my goals (and my heart’s desire) is to do what the Lord asks . . . and hide His word/truths in my heart so that when my mind wanders to that ‘less than joyful’ place, His word will take over.

I have asked Him to make me quick to realize when my thoughts aren’t pleasing to Him.  He’s been so faithful to allow me recognition.

I’m saddened/angered(?) by the request of satan (yes, I used lowercase for a reason).  I have a great friend who says she doesn’t even think about him because he’s already been defeated at the cross and his story’s been written.  Her only concern is the flesh.  The Lord has given satan domain over unbelievers.

For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, . . . Col. 1:13

As believers we can trust our greater authority in Christ, and recognize when our joy has been ‘stolen’.  We can seek the Lord through the power of His word and His name.  And by all means, have trusted prayer partners!

I’m relieved that it isn’t always my own fault.  This passage makes it clear that hard times aren’t necessarily the result of the sinful choices of the person experiencing tribulation.  It is the result of living in a fallen world, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that any particular hardship is the result of any particular sin in our lives.

Laying things down. Job lost so much. . .  his possessions, and worse, his children and his health.    And with that came comments and advice from well-meaning people in his life. And then the Lord. . . in all his awe, spoke to Job.  Isn’t it humbling when that happens?  When we recognize His communication to our heart, it’s such a perspective check.  It gives us reason to trust and revere; sometimes it’s convicting. . . but it’s always perfect.  Perfectly what we need.

 

Leave a Reply

