What Am I Missing?

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  2 Cor. 12:9

truths, what am I missing,

We all have our weaknesses don’t we?  Whether we struggle with speaking the truth in love, deal with pride, shutter at the thought of confrontation, or nurture despair, we have weaknesses.   And isn’t it common to approach one’s own weaknesses or those of others with the perspective of, “That’s just the way I am”  or “That’s just the way they are”.  I have heard and spoken those words.

Interestingly enough, I also remember wondering what I might be missing regarding the power of God.  I would see things or hear things about His power and I wanted more of my own stories.  Ok. . . truth be told. . . I still want more!

Paul reminds us that in our weakness the Lord’s power is made perfect.  Ok. . . so . . . what exactly does that mean?   What does that look like for my life?  How does it apply or how do I apply it?

Strongs shows ‘perfect’ to mean ‘to perform, execute, complete, fulfill’.  This definition tells me that whether we’re dealing with a heart issue or a task, His power executes or fulfills through us, what we can’t execute on our own.  

He uses our weaknesses to shine through us and receives indisputable glory for His activity in our lives.

When all is said and done, we know it wasn’t done by us.

  • It begins with surrender.  When I haven’t known what to surrender, I ask Him.  His Spirit opens my eyes (in His timing) to recognize what He has for me.  Sometimes I need to surrender doubt regarding circumstances.  When the circumstances present pain or challenge, I need to remember this passage.  Is it easy to surrender? Usually it isn’t.  But I think most of us have experienced coming to that place where we are at the end of our efforts.  Exactly where He wants us to be.
  • Trust Him and when you don’t, ask Him to do it through you.
  • Be in tune.  Spend time in His word and in prayer to understand His heart for you.  That’s a very different purpose than writing the correct answer for a Bible study question.   If something you read in his word makes no sense to you, tell Him.  Ask Him for help.

I have a dear friend who is very strong in the area of obedience.  She is Hispanic and was asked to be a Spanish interpreter for a missions trip.  The only problem was that she didn’t  know Spanish and she tried (to no avail) to convey that she couldn’t offer this help.  The night before they departed she was up all night fervently praying. . . oh my!  The next day, she was fully bilingual.  Her gifting lasted as long as the need was present.

His power was made perfect in her weakness.

What about you?  Do you have a story about His power in your life?  Will you share?

 

Leave a Reply

