What’s Your Focus?

‘Lord, if it’s you,’ Peter replied, ‘tell me to come to you on the water. ‘Come,’ he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.  But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, ‘Lord, save me!’  Matthew 14: 28 – 30

IMG_0270PL satur wave rock

Peter was doing just fine, don’t you think?  I mean, it isn’t every day that we find ourselves walking on water towards our savior.  He made a genuine request out of a need to feel safe, it was graciously granted and he proceeded in belief and trust.   It sounds exhilarating!  And honestly, I can’t imagine that I would have gotten THAT far!

And then it happened.

He entertained thoughts of partial facts.

He saw the wind.

Recognizing the presence of  the wind wasn’t the problem.  Here, the term used means to contemplate, to weigh carefully or examine.

Peter weighed, or contemplated the power of the wind apart from its creator.  In a moment of examination, he failed to factor in the truth that the creator has the upper hand. It’s dangerous to examine our obstacles without the filter of Jesus.  Partial facts are the circumstances apart from Him.

I’ve learned that only the spirit of God can open my eyes to recognize when I’m not dependent on him.  My finite mind needs his direction.

Years ago I discovered that I have a gift of discernment.  I also learned that once I’ve noticed something, God’s direction is a MUST.  Whether I’ve discerned something positive or negative, without prayer my thoughts, words and actions can lead to a lot of harm.

Like all of us, Peter was gifted with God’s grace in his failing moment.  I often recognize being in that place of loving grace in spite of myself.  But there are times when I feel the need to bathe my heart and mind in scripture more than usual.

Sometimes the more we  see our winds as Peter did, the more we need to bathe in truths that combat the recurrence.

I’m asking the Lord to remind me to remain focused on Him.  Life will always have a curve ball.  His perspective is the one of truth, reality and rest.  Only the power of God can give us true rest.  :)

Leave a Reply

