You Can Experienced The Presence of God

“Don’t you realize that all of you together are the temple of God and that the Spirit of God lives in you?” 1 Corinthians 3:16

truths, recognizing the presence of God, experiencing the presence of God, How I experience the presence of God.

If this is true, how can we experience His presence more often?

I remember seeing a video once that beautifully illustrated how we can be exposed to bits and pieces of information that slowly take our time and attention away from our creator, and from thinking about and recognizing his presence and of course, His truths.

We will either become transformed by lies (or even busyness), or truths.

I think one of the things that stood out to me in the video was the concept that those things that deter our attention away from our Shepherd aren’t necessarily bad. Sometimes, they are in fact wonderful things, such as serving in the church or helping others in some way including ministry.

I can remember working on Bible studies and being just focused enough on finding the correct answer that I found myself failing to listen, receive and internalize the heart of God not to mention His heart for my life. If that isn’t missing the point of Bible study, I don’t know what is. . .

Lessons learned:

  • Pray prior to beginning time in the Word.
  • Ask the Lord to clear my mind of any distractions

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Cor. 10:5

  • The goal is to soak in the time and be mentally available to listen and receive. It’s less important to accomplish a certain amount. I would rather know that I’ve listened than know that I’ve read a certain amount of chapters.
  • Be mindful that I want to learn about the heart of God for His people.
  • I want to recognize how it applies to my life today.
  • Remember that He knows me, loves me perfectly and is always working.

Much like anyone you spend time with–except that the Lord is perfect in every way–investing time ‘being’ and listening and chewing — so-to-speak — builds a relationship unlike any other.

This experience is available to every person. Anyone can recognize and experience His communication and presence.

It brings you to a place where you so desperately want others to have the same experience.

“My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.” John 10:27

Sometimes following Him means actively believing Him.

Sometimes it means recognizing where He’s working (at times we perceive His work as distractions) and joining Him.

Many times for me someone has seemingly randomly come to mind and I’ll send them a note or find another way to reach out to them, encourage them or ask if there is a need.

Other times I pray quietly for them.

I’m praying that each of us will be infectiously overwhelmed in our experiences with God and quick to recognize distractions.

Do you have stories of your experiences with God’s presence or communication with you? Please share.

 

Leave a Reply

