When Truths Overwhelm The Lies

These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may know that you have eternal life. 1 John 5:13

Truth and lies, God's truths, drown lies,overwhelm  the lies

I spent years as a believer without the assurance that I would experience heaven and eternal life with the Lord and loved ones someday. I rededicated my life so many times, and asked the Lord into my heart over and over. After speaking to a few others, I discovered that I was definitely not alone. My insecurities were not wrapped in joy, but they certainly provided soil for a solid harvest of God’s power.

2 Cor. 12:9 became my reality, unbeknownst to me. It reads,’But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.’ I could not have been more weak in this area and little did I know, the Lord was about to water the seeds in my heart and manifest His power.

I partnered with my dad in a program called Evangelism Explosion. They offer semester programs in which small group participants are trained on how to determine current beliefs, then walk through the Bible to see what the Lord says about eternal life.

When I pursued the training, I didn’t have the motive for my own assurance. In fact, I’m not even sure that entered my mind. Throughout the semester, I began to flood my brain with the Lord’s truths regarding salvation. With all the prayer I had done prior, I’m not sure I ever spent focused time bathing on His truths and learning what He says about it. By about 3/4 of the way through the semester I realized that I no longer had any doubt. The assurance was solid with complete peace. God’s truths overwhelmed the lies. Wow!!

It was the beginning for me of understanding what people meant when they spoke of God’s word being living and coming to life off the pages.

I came to believe that the seed of beauty enters our lives and hearts in various forms — Jesus and other relationships. But seeds need water to grow and manifest into beautiful fruit. In this case when the seed is the truths of His word, the target is the heart and flooding the mind with truths eventually leads to a genuine state of belief from the heart.

If you are someone who believed from the beginning, lets just say I admire your situation and I would love to hear your story! Please share! If you’ve had a journey like me, I would love to hear that story too. :)

On the other hand, if you would like some of the verses that we learned in EE, please feel free to let me know below and I’ll put them together for you.

Leave a Reply

