The Ultimate Authority Of Victory

God.

He is the creator of the universe and every living thing. He holds the ultimate position of authority for redemption, healing, and victory to walk in freedom. He has numbered our days and provides our every breath. Our Lord puts me in awe. . .and I haven’t even touched the surface . . .

The Ultimate Authority For Victory

Along with the gifts of the sacrifice of His only son, and resurrection and ascension of Christ, He also chose to house His Spirit IN those who believe. Seriously?!

He has given us 24/7 — just as we are — direct access to Himself in order that His Spirit might live through us making each of us a new creation. And with that comes His power for victory.

It’s important to keep that in mind with the additional but less powerful reality that we live in a fallen world. We deal with the flesh and thoughts entering our minds. Words carelessly spoken or ill received, justification, deception, pride, believing we are in the right and acting on the belief. In each case the slowly boiling frog seeps into the place of authority, fading the truths we have from our creator.

Years ago I did a Bible study on the Psalms by Cynthia Heald called Intimacy with God. One of the passages that really stood out to me was Ephesians 1:18 – 20:

“I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength 20 he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every name that is invoked, not only in the present age but also in the one to come.”

Again, I’m awe-struck! We have been given the same power as that of raising Christ from the dead?!

Not long after finishing the study, a crisis hit our family and I found myself in that familiar fog that many experience in the grieving process. My emotions were rampant and one Saturday morning I woke feeling empty and exhausted and thought, “I can’t do this Lord. I need you.” The Lord surfaced the Ephesians scripture in my mind and the next moment I was sitting up in bed.

The areas in our lives that need Him as a stronghold are areas that need life and truth. We were created to depend on him as our life source in relationship with Him. As with any relationship it requires work and it’s easy for fatigue and discouragement to set in and become the stronghold. He reminds me that in my weakness He is strong and I can ask him to be my strength.

Thank you, Lord.

How have you experienced God’s power?

 

Leave a Reply

