Radical, Perfect Love

Until we enter the gates of heaven, perfect love is too much to grasp.   Today, however, it’s available and waiting for every trusting heart.

Believing can be challenging can’t it?  The odds are so often against us in this world and the child like faith can erode with time as we allow experiences and thoughts take the position of authority that belongs to Christ and His truths in our lives.

truths, radical love, wandering sheep, sheep, perfect love

I remember sitting in a Bible Study Fellowship small group when a lady said that she was at a place in her life where she anxiously anticipated the next hardship.  The concept of such angst sounded so foreign to me and a world away from my state of mind at that time.  Then some time later, I arrived at that same place.

The human mind is so prone to wander to ‘fleshly thinking’ and not necessarily for bad reasons. Sometimes it’s the most noble of reasons such as serving others. We begin to compromise our time of focusing on God’s word and prayer. There’s a reason that we were compared to sheep in the Bible.

I happen to be someone who needs a lot of exposure to God’s word, stillness to listen and take heed. I have also experienced God’s communication with me at the most unsuspecting moments, when I was not necessarily ‘being still’. I suppose I bring that up as a reminder that our creator is not confined by our life’s circumstances. We can trust Him to surprise us by unveiling our eyes to the beauty of His heart at any given moment in time.

Yesterday — Good Friday — we remembered that each of our sins past, present and future, along with all those of everyone else in the world, pounded the crucifixion nails into the only one who offers perfect love. John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only son that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.” I pray the Lord protects me from taking this for granted while also remembering the hope of His resurrection.

The truths of the perfect love sacrifice and resurrection victory over death is a priceless reminder to me to confess my sins, repent, and take joy in His promises. There is no condemnation for those who are in Christ. That’s what Romans 8 conveys. That’s what Good Friday and His sacrifice express. His love is perfect and cannot change. It’s all too easy to slip into that place of condemnation after the confession and repentance. We’ve likely all seen photographs with messages to remind Satan of his future every time he reminds us of our mistakes. Although sin does make us miserable, confession and repentance appropriates His power of deliverance into freedom and peace.

How thankful I am for the truths that this weekend represents. Lord, I do believe, help me overcome my unbelief. Mark 9:24b

What are some evidences in your life of trusting God’s perfect love?

Leave a Reply

